March 2019 Meeting

March 12, 2019
11:30 AM - 1:00 PM
 Add to Calendar

The Scott Conference Center
6450 Pine St
Omaha, NE 68106
Venue website

Charles Starr, Division Chief with the Nebraska Department of Insurance, Insurance Fraud Prevention Division

Charles Starr is the Division Chief for the DOI, Insurance Fraud Prevention Division. He has been with the Nebraska Department of Insurance, IFPD, since July 1997. The Fraud Division commenced operations in September of 1995.  

Charles graduated from the University of Nebraska with a degree in Criminal Justice.  Charles has obtained the designation Senior Claims Law Associate (SCLA) from the American Educational Institute and Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator (CIFI) from the International Association of Special Investigation Units.  He has also obtained the designation of Accredited Health Care Fraud Investigator (AHFI) through the National Healthcare Antifraud Association.

Prior to joining the Department, he was an investigator with the Technical Investigations Unit of the Lincoln Police Department.  During that time he was responsible for managing case investigations involving fraud and other white-collar crimes.

Title: Nebraska Department of Insurance and Insurance Fraud Investigations

Insurance Fraud in the United States costs consumers billions of dollars each year through increased premiums.  The diversity of opportunities in committing such crimes are endless and are profitable.  Organized crime has discovered that insurance fraud is indeed profitable.  The risks they are exposed to are much less then committing other criminal acts.  This presentation will explore the opportunities, rationalization and incentives to commit insurance fraud. 

This presentation will provides provide some insight in recognizing and preventing fraudulent activity as well as emphasizing the importance of the early reporting of such activities to the proper authorities.


CPE: 1 hour Specialized Knowledge

Last day to register is March 6, 2019!!


$20.00 Student Ticket

$20.00 Member Ticket

$25.00 Non-Member Ticket